Freedom8 Mesoamerica

flag of veracruz

, formally Veracruz de Ignacio de la Llave is one of the 31 states that constitute the republic of Mexico.
Veracruz borders the states of Tamaulipas to the north, Oaxaca and Chiapas to the south, Tabasco to the southeast, Puebla, Hidalgo, and San Luis Potosí to the west, and the Gulf of Mexico to the east.
On the coastal plains and throughout most of the state, the climate is hot and humid. On the foothills of the mountains, the climate is cool and humid. The climate only becomes cold in the mountain regions, where it also rains copiously. Veracruz is occasionally affected by hurricanes from November through October.
In pre-Hispanic era, Isla de Sacrificios (Sacrifice Island), was inhabited by the Totonacs and the Olmecs, and was named Chalchihuitlapazco. It was discovered in 1518 by Juan de Grijalva, during the exploration of the Gulf of Mexico. One of the largest islands around Boca del Río, this site is surrounded by a coral reef.

Click on city to go there
map of veracruz teayo la mojarra tres zapotes laguna de los cerros san lorenzo la venta tajin

La Antigua was the second settlement after "La Villa Rica de la Veracruz". It is located 25 kilometers from Veracruz City. It features the house of Hernán Cortés. It is a small town that holds the oldest still-standing Catholic chapel built in the American continent.
Papantla was founded by Totonacs. It is located 198 meters above sea level between the Cazones and Tecolutla rivers.
El Tajín (City of Thunder) the main ceremonial center of the Totonacs, is located near 3 miles from Papantla, a beautiful and impressive antique city, ruins and traditions are founded there.