Freedom8 Mesoamerica

flag of yucatan

Yucatán is one of the 31 states of Mexico, located on the north of the Yucatán Peninsula. The Yucatan peninsula includes three states: Yucatán, Campeche, and Quintana Roo; all three modern states were formerly part of the larger historic state of Yucatán in the 19th century. The state capital of Yucatán is Mérida.
Before the arrival of the Spanish in the area, Yucatán was the home of the Maya civilization, and in particular the Yucatecan Maya people. Archaeological remains show ceremonial architecture dating back some 3000 years; some Mayan hieroglyphic inscriptions found in the area date back to the Mayan Preclassic period (200 B.C.). Mayan cities of Yucatán continued to flourish after the central and southern lowland Classic period Mayan cities collapsed (c. A.D. 900), including the Puuc flouresence during the Terminal Classic, the rise of

Click on city to go there
yucatan map

Chichen Itza at roughly the same time, and the subsequent rise of other sites, such as Mayapan, during the Postclassic. Several sites continued to be occupied up to and beyond the 16th century arrival of the Spanish. The ruins of well over a hundred Mayan sites of varying sizes can still be found on the peninsula, such as Chichen Itza and Uxmal, though most sites have not been extensively investigated. Other important ancient Mayan cities were built over by the Spanish, and their sites are still occupied today, such as Izamal (Itsmal in Yucatecan Maya) and Mérida (T'ho in Yucatecan Maya).

loltun cave labna kabah acanceh oxkintok mayapan chichen itza ek balam izamal ake dzbilchaltun tiho komchen cerritos chunchucmil yaxuna sayil uxmal